Ground Address

Manning Drive,
Churchill 3842

Facebook Page


Michael Johnson
0412 348 747


Jim Hutchinson
0423 491 835

Churchill FNC

Churchill’s original name was the Hazelwood Football Club. In 1905, it was a founding member under that name of the Mirboo Football Association, and later competed at various times in both the Morwell Football Association and the Mirboo Morwell Football Association. After world war two the club affiliated with the Mid Gippsland Football League where it would remain until 1983 claiming a total of seven senior grade premierships, the last two of which, in 1982 and 1983, came after the name change to Churchill, which occurred in 1981. Between 1970 and 1980 the club had been known as Hazelwood Churchill.

In 1984 Churchill transferred to the La Trobe Valley Football League but found the going tough, succumbing to a succession of wooden spoons. Since commencing in the North Gippsland Football League in 1995, however, the club has enjoyed the most consistently successful phase in its history. The seniors in fact reached the grand final in their very first season, but lost by 8 points to Gormandale. A second losing grand final followed in 1996, this time by the narrowest of margins against Glengarry, but since the turn of the century Churchill has been the league’s most successful club, contesting five senior grade grand finals for triumphs in 2002 against Traralgon Tyers United, 2003 over Heyfield, and 2008 against Gormandale. In 2014 the Senior side returned to claim another Preimership by defeating the then undefeated Heyfield in the Grand Final.

The Cougars’ achievements have not been limited to senior grade, with the reserves capturing flags in 1996, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2009, and the thirds in 1995-6-7 and 2000-1-2, 2010 and 2014 In addition, Churchill was the NGFL’s champion club a remarkable eight times in succession between 1996 and 2003.


The Churchill Football Club was admitted into the League in 1995 and have participated every season since that date.

Senior Premierships2002, 2003, 2008, 2014, 2018
Reserves Premierships1996, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2009
Thirds Premierships1995, 1996, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2011, 2014, 2018
A Grade Premierships1996, 1998(Champions), 2004, 2012
B Grade Premierships2010
D Grade Premierships2001, 2015
U13 Premierships1998, 1999

Senior League Best & Fairest Winners

2016Chris Williams